BIOGRAPHY

Diethard Stein played as a busy musician with many national and international top musicians. He has worked with "Sweet" Charles Sherrell (James Brown, Maceo Parker), Tom Mega, Michael Settler (Saga), Jean Orleans, Ira Coleman (Herbie Hancock, Tony Williams), Cem Karaca, Anna Mbwale, among others he played in jazz. with Christoph Spendel, Das Pferd, Frank Kirchner, Kazda, Larry Coryell, Jens Thomas, Martin Gjakanovski, Decebal Badilla, Joo Kraus, Torsten de Winkel, Dave King and the WDR Big Band. He also works as a drum teacher and as a workshop author for sticks, his textbooks under the title Modern Drumming are now established throughout Europe as the standard textbooks for drum lessons. For several years he also organized the festival “Leverkusener Jazztage” as its chairman.
Diethard Stein plays sonor drums, Roland drums, Anatolian cymbals and father sticks.
  • until today: teacher at the Music & Art School Velbert for drums and band coaching, head of the Rock / Pop / Jazz department, workshop author for STICKS Drum Magazin, band projects with Señora, Markus Wienstroer Band

  • 2017 - Publication of the 16th edition of MODERN Drumming 1

  • 2011 - pronounced teaching, work for sticks, organization of the international jazz workshop "Summer Jazz Hilden 2011", late night band jazz festival "Leverkusen Jazztage 2011", jury "Drummer Of Tomorrow 2011"

  • 2010 - Publication of the 13th edition of MODERN Drumming 1; pronounced teaching activity, work for STICKS; Organization of the international jazz workshop Summer Jazz Hilden 2010 in cooperation with Axel Fischbacher and the city marketing of the city of Hilden

  • 2009 - Publication of the 12th edition of MODERN Drumming 1 including a free 30-page e-book DRUM ESSENTIALS, preparation of my own project with bassist Achim Rzychon, distinctive teaching activity, a lot of work for STICKS and SCHOOLJAM, Roland V-Drums Endorser, Finale Endorser , Jury Drummer Of Tomorrow 2009 and V-Drum Contest 2009

  • 2008 - distinctive teaching work, management team of the Music & Art School Velbert, new STICKS series -jam play alongs online-, -CD / DVD of the month- as well as the workshop series -Drum Essential-

  • 2007 - Concerts 3 [three], Blue Note Session with u.a. Axel Fischbacher (git), Martin Ernst (Hammond, RTL Allstars), workshop author for SCHOOLJAM, music making & lift style (Musik Media Verlag Köln: keyboards, guitar + bass, sticks, etc.),

  • 2006 - Publication of the 10th edition of MODERN DRUMMING 1 with a new layout, production Musical Non (n) sens Schauspielhaus Krefeld / Mönchengladbach, jazz festival La Baule (France) with the Bela Primo Band, jazz festival Ingolstadt Late Night Band with u.a. Lawrence Sieberth - piano (USA), Quamon Fowler - saxophone (USA), Roland Guerin - bass (USA), Bill Solley - guitar (USA), Torsten de Winkel - guitar (D), Charly Böck - percussion (D)

  • 2005 - Production Musical Non (n) sens Schauspielhaus Krefeld / Mönchengladbach, i.a. Concert with 3 [three], the Indigo String Quartet and Jens Thomas (p)

  • 2004 - Publication of the textbook MODERN DRUMMING BASICS, concerts with 3 [three] u.a. Leverkusen Jazz Days, Ingolstadt Jazz Festival, Die Blechtrommel (G. Grass), Production Musical Non (n) sens Schauspielhaus Krefeld / Mönchengladbach, Ingolstadt Jazz Festival Late Night Band with u.a. Torsten de Winkel, Joo Kraus, Larry Siebert, Arnd Geise

  • 2003 - CD / 3 Karaguna released, concerts with 3 [three]

  • 2002 - Work with 3 [three], publication textbook MODERN DRUMMING GROOVES, endorser for ANATOLIAN cymbals

  • 1996 - 2003 - projects etc. with Axel Fischbacher, Jan Kazda, Achim Rzychon, Senora, Decebal Badilla, Diethard Stein Band, Martin Gjakanovski, 3 [three]

  • 1998 - 2001 - 1st chairman of the Leverkusen Jazz Festival

  • 1996 - 2001 - Member of the board of the Leverkusen Jazz Festival

  • since 1993 - publication of the MODERN DRUMMING drum textbooks in five volumes so far, now the standard textbook in the German-speaking European area with over 150,000 copies sold

  • since 1988- Lecturer for drums at the music and art school in the city of Velbert

  • since 1987 - editor and workshop author for the drum magazine STICKS (Musik Media Verlag Köln: keyboards, guitar + bass, sticks, etc.)

  • since 1983 - endorser for SONOR drums

  • 1985 - 1998 - Development and management of the MODERN DRUM STUDIO, at that time one of the largest drum schools in Europe, abroadUSA, Canada, South Africa, Bahrain, etc.

  • 1982 - 2001 - Work with: Heino, Deborah Sasson, Paul Kuhn Big Band, Günter Noris Big Band, Roberto Blanco, Frank Kirchner (H. Grönemeyer), Markus Wienstroer, Thomas Novak, Bela Primo Band (including Frank Sinatra, Al Jarreau ), Flavius ​​Theodonis Band (including Jennifer Rush, Jonny Loggin, Gloria Gayner, etc.), Tom Mega, Michael Settler (Saga), Richard Bona, Larry Coryell, Eddy Teger, Jean Orleans, Wolfgang Sauer, Decebal Badilla, Kazda, Sweet Charles Sherrell (James Brown, Maceo Parker), Dave King, Anna Mbwale etc ...

  • 1987 - 1989 - Schauspielhaus Düsseldorf, Wuppertal: Dreigroschenoper, cabaret, entertainer etc.

  • 1982 - 1986 - Jazz, Fusion, Funk, Rock: u.a. Poverty event, Christoph Spendel, Axel Fischbacher, Senora, Stu Goldberg (Mahavishnu Orchestra), Das Pferd

  • 1984 - Completion of classical music college studies at the MH Cologne, Institut Wuppertal with the examination of the "artistic maturity examination"

BIOGRAPHY

Diethard Stein hat als vielbeschäftigter Musiker mit vielen nationalen und internationalen Top-Musikern gespielt. Er arbeitete u.a. mit „Sweet“ Charles Sherrell (James Brown, Maceo Parker), Tom Mega, Michael Settler (Saga), Jean Orleans, Anna Mbwale, im Jazz spielte er u.a. mit Christoph Spendel, Das Pferd, Frank Kirchner, Kazda, Larry Coryell, Jens Thomas, Martin Gjakanovski, Decebal Badilla, Joo Kraus, Torsten de Winkel, Dave King und der WDR Big Band. Er arbeitet zudem als Schlagzeug -Dozent sowie als Workshopautor für Sticks, seine Lehrbücher unter dem Titel Modern Drumming sind inzwischen europaweit als die Standardlehrwerke für den Schlagzeugunterricht etabliert. Für mehrere Jahre organisierte er auch das Festival „Leverkusener Jazztage“ als deren Vorsitzender.
Diethard Stein spielt Sonor Drums, Roland Drums, Anatolian Cymbals und Vater Sticks.
  • bis heute: Dozent an der Musik&Kunstschule Velbert für Schlagzeug und Bandcoaching, Fachbereichsleiter Rock/Pop/Jazz, Workshop-Autor für das STICKS Drum Magazin, Band-Projekte mit Señora, Markus Wienstroer Band

  • 2017 Veröffentlichung der 16. Auflage von MODERN Drumming 1

  • 2011 - ausgeprägte Unterrichtstätigkeit, Arbeit für Sticks, Organisation des Internationalen Jazzworkshops "Summer Jazz Hilden 2011", Late Night Band Jazzfestival "Leverkusener Jazztage 2011", Jury "Drummer Of Tomorrow 2011"

  • 2010 - Veröffentlichung der 13. Auflage von MODERN Drumming 1; ausgeprägte Unterrichtstätigkeit, Arbeit für STICKS; Organisation des Internationalen Jazzworkshops Summer Jazz Hilden 2010 in Zusammenarbeit mit Axel Fischbacher und dem Stadtmarketing der Stadt Hilden

  • 2009 - Veröffentlichung der 12. Auflage von MODERN Drumming 1 inklusive kostenlosem 30-seitigem e-book DRUM ESSENTIALS, Vorbereitung meines eigenen Projektes mit dem Bassisten Achim Rzychon, ausgeprägte Unterrichtstätigkeit, viel Arbeit für STICKS und SCHOOLJAM, Roland V-Drums Endorser, Finale Endorser, Jury Drummer Of Tomorrow 2009 und V-Drum Contest 2009

  • 2008 - ausgeprägte Unterrichtsarbeit, Leitungsteam der Musik&Kunstschule Velbert, neue STICKS-Reihen -jam play alongs online-, -CD/DVD des Monats- sowie die Workshop-Reihe -Drum Essential-

  • 2007 - Konzerte 3 [drei], Blue Note Session mit u.a. Axel Fischbacher (git), Martin Ernst (Hammond, RTL Allstars), Workshop-Autor für SCHOOLJAM, Musikmachen & Liftstyle (Musik Media Verlag Köln: Keyboards, Gitarre+Bass, Sticks, etc.),

  • 2006 -Veröffentlichung der 10. Auflage von MODERN DRUMMING 1 mit neuem Layout, Produktion Musical Non(n)sens Schauspielhaus Krefeld/Mönchengladbach, Jazzfestival La Baule (Frankreich) mit der Bela Primo Band, Jazzfestival Ingolstadt Late Night Bandmit u.a. Lawrence Sieberth - Piano (USA), Quamon Fowler - Saxophone (USA), Roland Guerin - Bass (USA), Bill Solley - Guitar (USA), Torsten de Winkel - Guitar (D), Charly Böck - Percussion (D)

  • 2005 - Produktion Musical Non(n)sens Schauspielhaus Krefeld/Mönchengladbach, u.a. Konzert mit 3 [drei], dem Indigo Streichquartett und Jens Thomas (p)

  • 2004 - Veröffentlichung des Lehrbuches MODERN DRUMMING BASICS, Konzerte mit 3 [drei] u.a. Leverkusener Jazztage, Jazzfestival Ingolstadt, Die Blechtrommel (G. Grass), Produktion Musical Non(n)sens Schauspielhaus Krefeld/Mönchengladbach, Jazzfestival Ingolstadt Late Night Band mit u.a. Torsten de Winkel, Joo Kraus, Larry Siebert, Arnd Geise

  • 2003 - Veröffentlichung CD / 3 Karaguna, Konzerte mit 3 [drei]

  • 2002 - Arbeit mit 3 [drei], Veröffentlichung Lehrbuch MODERN DRUMMING GROOVES, Endorser für ANATOLIAN Cymbals

  • 1996 - 2003 - Projekte u.a. mit Axel Fischbacher, Jan Kazda, Achim Rzychon, Senora, Decebal Badilla, Diethard Stein Band, Martin Gjakanovski, 3 [drei]

  • 1998 - 2001 - 1. Vorsitzender des Festivals Leverkusener Jazztage

  • 1996 - 2001 - Mitglied im Vorstand des Leverkusener Jazztage-Festivals

  • seit 1993 - Veröffentlichung der MODERN DRUMMING Schlagzeuglehrbücher in bisher fünf Bänden, mittlerweile das Standardlehrwerk im deutschsprachigen europäischen Raum mit über 150000 verkauften Exemplaren

  • seit 1988-  Dozent für Schlagzeug an der Musik- und Kunstschule der Stadt Velbert

  • seit 1987 - Redakteur und Workshop-Autor für das Schlagzeug-Magazin STICKS (Musik Media Verlag Köln: Keyboards, Gitarre+Bass, Sticks, etc.)

  • seit 1983 - Endorser für SONOR Drums

  • 1985 - 1998 - Aufbau und Leitung des MODERN DRUM STUDIO, zu der Zeit eine der größten Schlagzeugschulen Europas, AuslandUSA, Kanada, Südafrika, Bahrein, etc.

  • 1982 - 2001 - Arbeit mit u.a.: Heino, Deborah Sasson, Paul Kuhn Big Band, Günter Noris Big Band, Roberto Blanco, Frank Kirchner (H. Grönemeyer), Markus Wienstroer, Thomas Novak, Bela Primo Band (u.a. Frank Sinatra, Al Jarreau), Flavius Theodonis Band (u.a. Jennifer Rush, Jonny Loggin, Gloria Gayner, etc.), Tom Mega, Michael Settler (Saga), Richard Bona, Larry Coryell, Eddy Teger, Jean Orleans, Wolfgang Sauer, Decebal Badilla, Kazda, Sweet Charles Sherrell (James Brown, Maceo Parker), Dave King, Anna Mbwale etc....

  • 1987 - 1989 - Schauspielhäuser Düsseldorf, Wuppertal: Dreigroschenoper, Cabaret, Entertainer etc.

  • 1982 - 1986 - Jazz, Fusion, Funk, Rock: u.a. Armutszeignis, Christoph Spendel, Axel Fischbacher, Senora, Stu Goldberg (Mahavishnu Orchestra), Das Pferd

  • 1984 -Abschluss des klassischen Musikhochschulstudiums an der MH Köln, Institut Wuppertal mit dem Examen der “Künstlerischen Reifeprüfung”