Drummer. Educator. Author of Modern Drumming textbook series.

Diethard Stein played as a busy musician with numerous national and international musicians. His “Modern Drumming” books are established throughout Europe as standard textbooks for drum lessons. Volume 1 of the series was published in German and English and is now one of the best-selling drum textbooks of all time worldwide with over 150,000 copies sold. Diethard Stein has been a STICKS author since the first edition in February 1988 ... more

BANDS

At the beginning of the 1980s, Señora called both the band and the “jazz record”, which was recorded and mixed by the renowned sound engineer Ansgar Ballhorn in the EMI studios in Cologne. At that time Señora played an extraordinary number of gigs, at many festivals and in many beautiful clubs, such as Hamburg's cult club "Onkel Pö".

After a long break from the band, the label Growing Bin from Hamburg approached the musicians with the idea of ​​releasing the album. And since the original press templates still existed, a reissue album was released that knows how to convince with 100% analog sound, richness of sound and warmth. The first edition was quickly sold out - and a real success in Japan! "A jewel of groove jazz ..." now writes the review. It's kind of strange, because such fusion music was frowned upon as a whole genre for a long time, and it took decades to realize how stupid this rejection was. That only came when u. a. a band called Snarky Puppy "reinvented" this music and suddenly presented the sound that Señora had made as hip again.

Axel Fischbacher (git), Christian Henze (key), Thomas Giesler (bass), Diethard Stein (drums)

1 Here He Comes Alive.mp3Trio 3 - Album Karaguna
00:00 / 02:41
12 Jojo.mp3Trio 3 - Album Karaguna
00:00 / 03:59
Challenger.mp3Markus Wienstroer Band-Rehearsal
00:00 / 06:39
Drumsolo.mp3Markus Wienstroer Band-Rehearsal
00:00 / 01:07

supported by:

doozzoo.jpg
076sonor.gif.jpg
798anatolian.jpg
vater-klein.jpg
803v-drum.jpg
ahead_armor_klein.jpg
Finale-Logo-1.jpg
leu-verlag-klein.jpg

Drummer. Educator. Author of Modern Drumming textbook series.

Diethard Stein hat als vielbeschäftigter Musiker mit zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Musikern gespielt. Seine “Modern Drumming”-Bücher sind europaweit als Standard-Lehrwerke für den Schlagzeugunterricht etabliert. Band 1 der Reihe wurde in deutsch und in englisch publiziert und gehört mittlerweile mit über 150.000 verkauften Exemplaren zu den meistverkauften Drum-Lehrbüchern aller Zeiten weltweit. Diethard Stein ist STICKS-Autor seit der ersten Ausgabe vom Februar 1988 ... mehr

BANDS

Señora nannte sich Anfang der 80er-Jahre sowohl die Band wie auch die „Jazzplatte“, die vom renommierten Toningenieur Ansgar Ballhorn in den EMI-Studios in Köln aufgenommen und gemischt wurde. Señora hat zu dieser Zeit außerordentlich viele Gigs gespielt, auf vielen Festivals und in vielen schönen Clubs, wie zum Beispiel Hamburgs Kultclub „Onkel Pö“.

Nach langer Band-Pause kam jetzt das Label Growing Bin aus Hamburg auf die Musiker zu, mit der Idee, das Album wieder aufzulegen. Und da es die originalen Pressvorlagen noch gab, wurde ein Reissue-Album veröffentlicht, das mit 100 % Analog-Sound, Klangfülle und Wärme zu überzeugen weiß. Die Erstauflage war schnell ausverkauft – und ein echter Erfolg in Japan! „Ein Juwel des Groove Jazz …“ schreibt jetzt die Kritik. Ist schon irgendwie merkwürdig, denn lange Zeit war derartige Fusion-Musik als ganzes Genre verpönt und es hat Jahrzehnte gedauert bis man gemerkt hat, wie dumm diese Ablehnung war. Das kam erst, als u. a. eine Band namens Snarky Puppy diese Musik “neu erfand” und genau den Sound, den Señora gemacht hatten, plötzlich wieder als hip präsentierten.

Axel Fischbacher (git), Christian Henze (key), Thomas Giesler (bass), Diethard Stein (drums)

1 Here He Comes Alive.mp3Trio 3 - Album Karaguna
00:00 / 02:41
12 Jojo.mp3Trio 3 - Album Karaguna
00:00 / 03:59
Challenger.mp3Markus Wienstroer Band-Rehearsal
00:00 / 06:39
Drumsolo.mp3Markus Wienstroer Band-Rehearsal
00:00 / 01:07